The Jhalak Prize longlist 2019

The Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour is in it’s third year. Last year it was won by Renni Eddo-Lodge for Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race (my review). A completely marvellous book – one of my favourites from last year.

This years longlist contains two books I read last year and were amongst my favourites of the year: Ponti by Sharlene Teo (my review), and In Our Mad and Furious City by Guy Gunaratne (my review). Also two more books I really want to read, but haven’t got round to yet: Built by Roma Agrawal, and Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch. It’s not often that I see a prize longlist and can say I know so much about even one book! 🙂

The shortlist announcement is on the 5th April – this week! I’m hoping for Ponti by Sharlene Teo.

Jhalak prize long list

The 2019 longlist is:

Roma AgrawalBuilt : The Hidden Stories Behind Our Structures (Bloomsbury)

Akala, Natives: Race and Class in the Ruins of the Empire (Two Roads)

Raymond Antrobus, The Perseverance (Penned in the Margins)

Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff (ed.), Mother Country: Real Stories of the Windrush Children (Headline/Hachette)

Yrsa Daley-Ward, The Terrible (Penguin)

Aminatta Forna, Happiness (Bloomsbury)

Guy Gunaratne, In Our Mad and Furious City (Tinder)

Afua Hirsch, Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging (Vintage)

Damian Le Bas, Stopping Places: A Journey Through Gypsy Britain (Chatto & Windus)

Roy McFarlane, The Healing Next Time (Nine Arches)

Onjali Q. Rauf, The Boy At The Back of The Class (Hachette Childrens)

Sharlene Teo, Ponti (Picador)

1 thought on “The Jhalak Prize longlist 2019

  1. Pingback: Books Bought and Read April 2019 | Be Exactly Who You Want To Be

Leave a comment