The Custard Heart – Dorothy Parker (Penguin Modern Classic)

A collection of three short stories by Dorothy Parker. I’ve not read any Dorothy Parker before. I have The Portable Dorothy Parker ready to be read. But at 650+ pages it’s a bit daunting. This Penguin Mini Modern Classic is a good way to try a few pieces of her work out and then decide if I want to attempt the giant collection of stories, poems, and reviews.

penguinmodernclassics1

Train booze and train reading. They were £1 each AND 3 for 2!

I really enjoyed these three stories. All set around the Jazz age. All a bit tragic. All custardheart1heartbreaking and a bit sad. The middle story, and longest, Big Blonde was my favourite. About a women’s descent into alcoholism and her reliance on men for her existence.

These three stories have really made me look forward to reading the longer collection of Parker’s work.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment