Family Film Time – July 2017

Every week we have enforced family film watching time. Its partly to try and have a couple of hours down time, partly to be able to share our love of film with our kids, partly to have a tradition we hopefully will continue in the future. We take turns to pick. The participants are currently 39, 37, 7 and 4.

I say every week, but we’ve had a run of months where it’s not been possible to all sit down together. I can already tell you August is going to be a nightmare for this! So what did we watch in July:

The Simpsons Movie

the_simpsons-1

I’ve seen it so many times already, usually getting to near the end before it all becomes so familiar. Wasn’t sure what the children would make of it – they haven’t ever watched The Simpsons. My son found all the slapstick elements of it HILARIOUS, and they both loved SpiderPig. A hit.

Ice Age

large_diegosidmanny_1

This film is from 2002! How?! My children wanted me to choose Ice Age 3, but I can’t possibly start a series of films in the middle. So the first Ice Age it is. I tried to help them understand the timeline of ice ages and times with dinosaurs etc. I probably shouldn’t have bothered. đŸ˜€

Pokemon: Destiny Deoxys

maxresdefault

Of all the pokemon films I’ve had to sit through so far, this has actually been the most enjoyable. Yes, you heard me. I quite enjoyed it. I mean, I’m not going to watch it again by choice, or actually recommend it to anyone, but it was alright. The best character was Munchlax. Pure comedy gold.

 

kylie_munchlax

This is Munchlax. 

The question I quite want to know is: How many more Pokemon films are there that my son has access to? I think he might have at least three more lined up…

Leave a Reply

