Books Bought and Read – June 2017

Bought

I’ve started a Summer reading challenge and so have bought a few books I have wanted to read for a while that I have firmly put on my summer reading list!

Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood. It’s been on my wishlist for a long time and is also on my 2017 book challenge list (the one I seem to have almost abandoned).

 

oryx crake.JPG

The Power – Naomi Alderman. I’ve wanted to read this since I first heard about it. I’m so happy it won the Bailey’s Prize.

The Lottery and other stories – Shirley Jackson. I don’t do scary, so thought I’d give it a go and start mildly (I hope!).

Hope In The Dark: Untold Histories, Wild Possibilities – Rebecca Solnit. Loved Men Explain Things to Me. I’m clearly going to read everything by Rebecca Solnit, but need to space them out so they last longer!

IMG_6014.JPG

lovely books with a beautiful peony from my garden

I discovered NetGalley this month, where reviewers can request ebooks in return for reviewing them. I’ve learnt very quickly that I need to request carefully! I ended up with too many requests being granted and not enough time to read them all. One of the books I have read is Queen of Spades by Michael Shou-Yung Shum (review will be posted in September!). This book is a rewriting of Pushkin’s Queen of Spades, a book I know nothing about – so I bought it to be able to compare the two.

Queen of Spades – Alexander Pushkin

 

queen spades.JPG

 

The Underground Railroad – Colson Whitehead. Looks great. Was quite reasonably priced on preorder. It hasn’t arrived yet, so not sure it really counts as a purchase this month…

The Song of Achilles – Margaret Miller (kindle 99p book) This has been on my wishlist for a while and it popped us as a kindle daily deal. Same with:

Wild – Cheryl Strayed. Read a very strong recommendation of this recently by someone I admire.

School Summer Fayre had books for 25p each! Picked up The Locked Room and Other Horror Stories – M. R. James, and Goth Girl and the Pirate Queen – Chris Riddell.

IMG_6161.JPG
and finally, a year after I accidentally ordered the paperback not realising it wasn’t out for a year! My friend Gavin Hesketh’s book arrived! The Particle Zoo:
particle zoo.JPG

rapidly taken, early morning selfie!

To finish off the month I has a few more purchases:

Alex’s Adventures in Numberland – Alex Bellos. He was coming to my college to give a talk, so I needed the book (I’ve wanted to read it for a while anyway) so I could get it signed

I also got Oreo – Fran Ross

and A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness. 

 

IMG_6270.JPG
13 books bought this month. Not bad 

Read

Books I’ve read this month. Linked to reviews if they are published yet 😀

essex serpent
Queen of Spades – Michael Shou-Yung Shun (review due in september!)
qos-front-cover
51o3pkmsmgl-_sx331_bo1204203200_
41qugndt3tl-_sx323_bo1204203200_
The Power – Naomi Alderman. Loved loved loved this
IMG_6101
 saini-inferior

Bedtime Stories with my Children

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – It all got a bit too dark! so we are taking a break and have replaced it with:
The Famous Five Get Into Trouble – Enid Blyton. That’s so wizard!
Diary of a Minecraft Zombie – book 1. Completely my own fault because I bought it him for xmas.
The Witches – Roald Dahl. Small person bedtime book. Surprised she’s not utterly terrified by it.
Matilda – Roald Dahl. Think we are on the third time through so far. It’s like comfort food.

 

Leave a Reply

