Books Bought and Read – April 2017

Bought

Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts – Mary Gibson. 99p kindle book. What can I say. I love custard tarts and was a bit hungry.

Absolute Friends – John Le Carre. 99p Kindle book. I’m on a (very slow) mission to read all the John Le Carre books in order. I’m on book 3… but pick up others when I see them cheap!

The Color Purple – Alice Walker. Oxfam books paperback. It’s embarrassing that I’ve never read this.

The Female Man – Joanna Russ. Oxfam books paperback. Some 1970s classic feminist sci-fi. Yes please!

IMG_5280

The Glorious Heresies – Lisa McInerney. 99p kindle deal. Last year’s Bailey’s prize winner.

Nobody Told Me – Holly McNish. I bought this brand new, shiny, full price from Waterstones. I heard an extract from it, one of the poems, probably on radio 4 – it feels like it would have been a radio 4 thing, and I needed to own it. It was written from when she found out she was pregnant and covers the first few years of her baby’s life. The poem I heard sounded raw and honest and made me cry. It was only about 4 lines long! As someone who has struggled with having small children (struggled as in I have not coped exceedingly well) I am very much looking forward to this warts and all look at parenting. Don’t think this one will take me long to read!

IMG_5418

I was doing well this month. Don’t buy too may books. Don’t buy too many books. You CAN’T read them all. Just don’t look at the kindle sales… Then I spotted:

The Descent of Man – Grayson Perry. 99p kindle deal. It’s one I’ve been after for a while. So I bought it. Then I saw, a bit further down the page:

The Man in the High Castle – Philip K. Dick. 99p kindle deal. Well, I really want to read this. It’s in my wish list. I may as well buy it now as it’s just 99p. But then next to it I spotted:

The Three-Body Problem – Cixin Liu. 99p kindle deal. Great! This is in my wishlist too. I must have it. But it’s part of a trilogy… and they are on sale too… so I ended up with:

The Dark Forest – Cixin Liu. 99p kindle deal.

and

Death’s End – Cixin Liu. 99p kindle deal. OMG send help.

FREE BOOKS! from outside a neighbours house 🙂 So these don’t really count because I didn’t pay for them…

  • Hercule Poirot’s Christmas – Agatha Christie
  • Cards on the Table – Agatha Christie
  • Why Didn’t They Ask Evans? – Agatha Christie
  • The Last of the Mohicans – Fenimore Cooper
  • Billy Bunter Among the Cannibals – Frank Richards

IMG_5487

And now I’m holiday planning so needed:

The Rough Guide to England – second hand amazon marketplace.

The Rough Guide to Europe on a Budget – second hand amazon marketplace.

A Quiet Storm – Rachel Howzell Hall. Well because I just wanted to add a novel to the previous order.

Read

I was feeling like I hadn’t read much this month – I was wrong! Think it’s just because I’m struggling with my current read.

Angels – Marian Keyes 

The Story of My Life – Helen Keller

Vinegar Girl – Anne Tyler

Bel Canto – Ann Patchett

Welcome to Biscuitland: A Year in the Life of Touretteshero – Jessica Thom

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold – John Le Carre

The Man in the High Castle – Philip K. Dick

Bedtime Stories

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J. K. Rowling. Harry has completed the second task now. We are getting there. This is the story I read every night with my oldest child. The rest in this list are the random choices of the small one!

Matilda – Roald Dahl.  Love Matilda. This is the second time through it.

Busy places around the world. Not much of a story with this one!

Harry Potter and the Philosoper’s Stone – J. K. Rowling. Harry is still in Diagon Alley. Slow going… we only read a little bit of this about once a week.

The Secret Seven – Adventure on the way home. I say. 

Leave a Reply

