Books bought and read – March 2017

Bought

I am actually quite embarrassed at this bought list. Too many. So excessive 😦

A Foreign Country (Thomas Kell Spy Thriller, Book 1) – Charles Cumming (kindle edition). Bought after seeing a tweet by Adam Rutherford praising the third book in the series as being the best book he’d read last year. I couldn’t just go and knowingly start with the third book in a series, obviously.

The Handmaids Tale – Margaret Atwood (paperback). I have a dodgy kindle copy with bad formatting. So I’ve paid a fiver for a second hand copy. I need to read it before the film comes out! (achievement unlocked)

Night – Elie Wiesel (paperback). I bought a paperback copy as soon as I’d finished reading  the kindle version I had. I need this book on my shelves.

Wintersong – S Jae-Jones. One of my Illumicrate books.

Red Sister – Mark Lawrence. The other Illumicrate book.

img_4996

Everything is Illuminated – Jonathan Safron Feor. Oxfam books visit. It’s been on my to read list for a few years

How to Build a Girl – Caitlin Moran. Loved loved loved How to be a Woman. Part of an Oxfam Books haul

Bel Canto – Ann Patchett. Oxfam books and it’s on my reading list challenge 2017.

book loan.JPG

oxfam books preston haul

Everything I Never Told You – Celeste Ng. The first one I ordered never showed up! So I ordered another… when it appeared it didn’t have the cover I really liked. Boo 😦

Lion: A Long Way Home – Saroo Brierley. My next book club book.

Jailbird, Deadeye Dick, Player Piano, and God bless you, Mr Rosewater – Kurt Vonnegut. Kindle 99p deals. I entirely blame the Book Shambles podcast for this because they keep going on about Kurt Vonnegut.

Mothering Sunday – Graham Swift. Kindle 99p deals are killing me this month.

Vinegar girl – Anne Tyler (paper back). Bought for a local book club I have wanted to try for ages…

vinegar girl.JPG

book plus new make up purchases!

It Can’t Happen Here – Sinclair Lewis (paper back). Bought because it’s the next months book for the new book club I’m going to try. I am going to go. There, I’ve committed.

Also… I had a few friends over one evening and two lovely super friends brought me books to read! This huge pile is the two book loans combined:

book loan 2.JPG

blue hued books from friends

And it was Mother’s Day, and my clever children (with perhaps a little help) got me these:
mothers day.JPG

punk + books

Well done kids!

Read

A Winter Book – Tove Jansson (kindle)

Night – Elie Wiesel (kindle)

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

The Diet Myth – Tim Spector

Galapagos – Kurt Vonnegut

American Gods – Neil Gaiman

For bed time stories, read to my children:

Welcome to Alien School – Caryl Hart. Love Mr Kraark and doing all the alien voices.

Crystallising Chaos – My Little Pony

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling. We’ll be reading this for a while. Super huge. Won’t let the little ‘uns watch the film again after an epic lapse in judgement before xmas! I have edited one section already as I read it. Can’t remember which bit it was… Must have been when the dark mark was conjured and someone died. Will probably heavily edit later on parts of the book, and insist on a big break before attempting the next book (small person listening to this story is almost 7).

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling. The first Potter book for the littlest child. He’s not even been to Diagon Ally yet. Keep having to stop to read other books.

Matilda – Roald Dahl. So much love for this book. I loved it as a child myself, and my son and daughter have both enjoyed it. Wish I had some of the Bruce Bogtrotter cake right now…

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy. Help.

Leave a Reply

